

STAFF REPORT

DATE: January 7, 2021

FILE: 0550-04

- TO: Chair and Directors, Regional Board
- FROM: Dave Leitch Chief Administrative Officer

RE: ADVISORY PLANNING COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS – ELECTORAL AREA D

PURPOSE/PROBLEM

To consider making appointments to the Electoral Area D (Oyster Bay-Buttle Lake) advisory planning commission for 2021.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The Regional District has established provision for appointing advisory planning commissions (APC's) for each of its electoral areas in accordance with Bylaw No. 2861. The bylaw specifies that the appointment of members to the APC's will be for a one-year term commencing on January 1 each year and that the members will serve at the pleasure of the Board. Appointments to an APC are at the discretion of the Board.

The attached Exhibit 1 provides information on the 2020 advisory planning commission membership for Electoral Area D. The Area D Director has provided the names listed in the recommendation for Board appointment to the advisory planning commission for 2021. The Board may choose to reappoint members from those persons listed or make any changes it deems appropriate. Advisory planning commissions may have as many as 15 members or as few as 3 members.

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1. THAT the report from the Chief Administrative Officer be received.
- 2. THAT the following persons be appointed to the Electoral Area D (Oyster Bay-Buttle Lake) Advisory Planning Commission for 2021:

Jon Ackroyd Peter Laing Patricia Boham Marcy Prior Jordan Hargrave Malcolm Wilson **Terry Jacques**

Respectfully

Dave Leitch Chief Administrative Officer

Prepared by: T. Yates, Corporate Services Manager

Attachment: January 7, 2021 email from Director Leigh

EXHIBIT 1

Advisory Planning Commission Appointments for 2020

Electoral Area D

Jon Ackroyd Peter Laing Patricia Boham Marcy Prior Terry Jacques Malcolm Wilson

Edith Watson

From: Sent: To: Subject: Edith Watson January 7, 2021 1:51 PM Edith Watson RE: AREA "D" ADVISORY PLANNING COMMISSION FOR 2021

-----Original Message-----From: Brenda Leigh <bleigh.53@gmail.com> Sent: January 7, 2021 11:28 AM To: Barbara Bryant <BBryant@srd.ca>; Aniko Nelson <ANelson@srd.ca>; John Neill <JNeill@srd.ca>; Tom Yates <TYates@srd.ca> Cc: David Leitch <DLeitch@srd.ca> Subject: AREA "D" ADVISORY PLANNING COMMISSION FOR 2021

Hello, everyone! I wish to advise that Area D's APC for 2021 is listed below in alphabetic order:

Ackroyd, Jon
Boham, Patricia
Hargrave, Jordan
Jacques, Terry
Laing, Peter
Prior, Marcy
Wilson, Malcolm

You should have all of the contact information on file, since all of the above have served on Area D's APC through 2020, except Jordan Hargrave, who was on Area D's APC in previous years. Please let me know if I can provide you with any further information.

Also, please note that Terry Jacques has connectivity problems and can only be reached by telephone and/or regular mail. Also, Malcolm Wilson is not interested in virtual meetings. Jon Ackroyd suggested that if and when we can convene an "in person" APC, that it be held in good weather in an open-air setting, such as the new Salmon Point patio or social distanced at other local rented facilities that may be possible, provided Ministry of Health guidelines allow for this in the not-too-distant future.

1

Anyway, please let me know if you need any further information..

Brenda E. Leigh, Director, Oyster Bay-Buttle Lake (Area D), Strathcona Regional District